Posted by: Bethany Davis | November 26, 2013

Back in the Saddle

I love my husband. A lot. He is so attentive to me and always looking to serve and show his love. He’s the “real deal” – striving to live out Ephesians 5 every day.

Birthdays are one of those times when he spoils me more I deserve. He handmade a beautiful card (and even incorporated some of Vera’s drawings in it) and listed 30 things he appreciates about me and 30 of his favorite moments we’ve has together. It was a perfect way to speak one of my love languages – words of affirmation. Oh, did I mention the boxes (yes, that’s plural) of chocolate he gave me?! And, chocolate must be one of my top love languages, too!

Chocolate and a card would have been plenty, but it didn’t stop there. On my birthday, Brian gave me a large box where I found 2 helmets – one wrapped in pink paper and one in blue. I was puzzled for a moment, but it didn’t take me long to figure out what the other half of the gift was…

20131126-005941.jpg
A NEW TANDEM!!!
20131126-010430.jpg
I was shocked and completely surprised. We had rendered our old tandem unridable and pretty much beyond repair without spending more time and money than it was worth. So getting a new bike with all the bells and whistles (even a gear shift!) made my heart happy.

Even though we had chosen to let the blog go to the wayside lately, I decided this life event merited coming out of our cyber silence. Especially since we’ve blogged about restoring our first tandem.

Tandem bike riding is (quite obviously) a shared experience and carries many parallels to the marriage experience. [More on that later, perhaps.] When we took our inaugural ride on the new bike, it all came back to us – metaphorically and literally! You truly don’t forget how to ride a bike, no matter how long it’s been.

20131126-020334.jpg Here we are in December 2010 with our original tandem 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

