Posted by: Bethany Davis | June 21, 2012

A Fun-filled Father’s Day

Brian’s 2nd Father’s Day started off with breakfast in bed. I made some fresh blueberry coffee cake the night before and had Vera help me make a card. When I was growing up, I remember bringing my dad breakfast in bed on Father’s Day, too. Maybe it’s a Haegele/Davis tradition!

 

After church, we went hiking around Alta Ski Resort. It was a beautiful day! Vera did well in the backpack carrier and kept pointing to trees and saying,  “this! this!”

We celebrated with a Slurpee run after the hike. This time we weren’t messing around and both got the extra large! Maybe someday Georgia will see the light and open some 7-11s.

 

For dinner I had made a Pesto-filled Flank Steak from Cook’s Illustrated the day before. We put on the grill and enjoyed the pool that evening while it cooked.

It’s been a joy to watch Brian be a such a fun and loving dad to Vera. Every morning before work she gives him kisses, waves, and says “Bub-bye.” When he comes home, I tell her, “Vera, Daddy’s home!” She says, “Dadda?” and crawls to the garage door as quick as she can. So cute!

 

Vera & Daddy at church

Responses

  1. We stumbled over here by a different web page
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking over your web page again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

