Posted by: Bethany Davis | May 14, 2012

Motherhood lessons: To know His voice

While I was pregnant with Vera, I began to pray that I would see more of who God is through being a mother. During the first few months, I was struck by all the spiritual parallels of motherhood and God’s love for His children. I began to journal the lessons I was learning and thought I’d share a few here, as I’m reflecting on Mother’s Day. 

my first Mother’s Day — May 2011

Vera Evangeline knows its me before I even speak to her. She knows my voice, my smell, my touch, maybe even the way I move toward her. I’m different and unique from all the other people in her life. She clings to me for nourishment and comfort, and often falls asleep as I hold her close. This is how closely I want to know Christ. It’s easy to become fixated on hearing from Him, but I should know Him and His ways before He speaks.

Discerning God’s will is a topic I spent much time thinking and studying during college and pre-college. How do I know what God wants me to do with my life? What do I study? Who do I marry? Yet, prior to pursuing answers, I should have been seeking to know WHO the Lord is. How can I listen when I don’t know Who is speaking? Watching Vera seek me and know me has humbly taught me how to rest and treasure the Lord.

Adam and Eve heard the sound of the Lord moving in the Garden and knew it was Him (Gen. 3:8,10). Because he was a loving and just God, they knew His presence meant accountability for their actions. However, prior to sin, knowing God’s presence and walking with Him was meant to be a special time of connection. I long for this Edenic state and time to simply be with Him,  yet don’t stop to “listen, look, taste, and smell.” I can take some notes from Vera, as she is learning to use her God-given senses. God longs to be known and to have me rest in Him. How amazing that God created me to need Him — just as Vera needs me.

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13


Lord, teach me to know you and recognize your ways. I want to seek You with the same earnestness that a newborn seeks her mother. Only You will satisfy! 

Responses

  1. Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

