Posted by: Bethany Davis | March 31, 2012

God’s character displayed in the Utah mountains

The state of Utah is quite diverse when it comes to nature. Even the view from Arches National Park included snow-capped mountains in the distance. How is it that you can be skiing only four hours away from the desert?!

A few weeks ago I did a little day trip around the mountains and through the canyon. I was in awe of the beauty of the land, and most of all — in awe of the Creator. Utah has given me a new understanding of who God is as I look at the terrain. I had previously memorized this verse, that speaks of seeing God in nature:

For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse. (Romans 1:19-20 ESV)

I had always seen this verse through the eyes of the teleological argument for God’s existence. Yes, creation points to a Creator because of it’s beauty and complexity, but it also reveals part of His character.

snow-capped mountains

The powerful and monstrous snow-capped mountains remind me of his omnipotence (He’s all-powerful) and his strength. I-15 runs along the mountain range, with most cities nestling against the mountains’ base. It reminds me of Ps. 139:5 and Deut. 33:!2:

You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. (ESV)

“The beloved of the Lord dwells in safety. The High God surrounds him all day long, and dwells between his shoulders.” (ESV)

The mountains seem to ‘hem in’ the inhabitants the same way the Lord hems in those he loves. I marvel at His strength and power with a reverent fear, and thank Him for using them to accomplish his purposes and protect His people.

red rock at Arches

The red rocks in Moab that sprung out of the ground from salt deposits remind me of his justice and wrath.

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth. (Romans 1:18 ESV)

I wonder what the first explorers thought when they saw the arches! The rocks even had Biblical names like “Fiery Furnace” and “Tower of Babel.” The Tower of Babel reminds me of times in the Bible when God punished people who choose not to following His decrees (similar to what Romans 1 refers to).

‘The Lord is slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love, forgiving iniquity and transgression, but he will by no means clear the guilty,visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, to the third and the fourth generation.’ (Exodus 14:18, ESV)

foothills to fish and play in

He is slow to anger, and I’m so thankful for that! I see his gentleness in the soft foothills of Utah and the sand dunes. They gently roll and are easy to climb and play on… like the Lord inviting us to come to Him and rest in safety.

Through the terrain of Utah I see God’s power, justice, love, and his invitation to be with Him. And my response? Ps. 95:1-6 sums it up pretty well:

Psalm 95:1-6 – O Come, let us sing for joy to the LORD; Let us shout joyfully to the ROCK of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms. For the LORD is a great God, And a great King above all gods, In whose hand are the depths of the earth; The peaks of the MOUNTAINS are His also. The sea is His, for it was He who made it; And His hands formed the dry land. Come, let us worship and bow down; Let us kneel before the LORD our Maker.

Responses

  1. Very insightful, my friend. Thank you for sharing these ponderings and thank you for the verses you included. Great post. I also enjoyed reading the link about the teleological viewpoint of creation. I totally get this. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

