Posted by: Bethany Davis | March 3, 2012

Marriage & Family Therapy update

Being able to practice counseling as a licensed professional in the state of Georgia requires not only a master’s degree, but sitting for a comprehensive national exam, acquiring 2,000 direct client hours (post masters), and some additional supervision.

I’m now at the point in the process where the board has approved me to take the MFT exam this summer. Yippee! Upon passing (please pray this happens the first time!), I will receive my associate license, which will enable me to begin seeing clients.

So, I have a few months to study. I have two study guides and some other materials I’ve pulled from my masters work that I think will be helpful. Back in Greensboro, my mom watched Vera so I could steal away to the library and read by the fire (see photo).

My desire to obtain a license and study Marriage and Family Therapy, led me to choose Richmont Graduate University.It is a program that educates according to Biblical worldview as well as the standards of the professional field. How explicitly or implicitly graduates integrate their faith into their practice is a personal decision – however, many classes and seminars will equip students to navigate this road.

Since I’m not sure when I’ll return to work (paid or volunteer) or where that might be, you might be wondering, why pursue licensure? As Christians, I believe everything we do should be done with excellence (Colossians 3:23). Being licensed is testimony that my counseling work is performed at the  highest degree ethically, morally, and empirically (my methods are research-based). The board maintains standards that include rigorously training requirements, supervision ethics, and continuing-education – to name a few. This will keep me well-trained and above-board as a therapist.

Licensure will give me access to all types of job practices and fields. Which, in turn, means a variety of clients from all backgrounds. Although I have a heart for the Church (universal), I feel I have much to offer those who aren’t believers.

Furthermore, licensure will allow me to interact with others in my field. Many therapists do not espouse a Christian perspective and some are even hostile to it. I hope to demonstrate how Christ-center values are consistent with healthy functioning. And furthermore, when appropriate, to give testimony to how Christ can fulfill man’s deepest needs and longings.

Now, back to the books!

Responses

  1. Very Cool…love your view and inclusion of Col 3:23


Leave a Reply

Categories

