Posted by: Bethany Davis | February 16, 2012

Building Momentum in Marriage

It doesn’t take much to knock down a line of dominos. Maybe a small tap or even a slight wind, and the entire row comes crashing down.

Just like dominos, our actions and thoughts are strung together. Whether we know it or not, we are building momentum. If we spend time our time thinking about “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable … excellent or praiseworthy” (Phil. 4:8), then these are the things that will develop in our life. Momentum is built by what we do or say.

I’ve heard it said that “we get what we honor.” So I want to examine if my life is matching up to my priorities. I’m challenged  myself to spend my time, money, and thoughts on what I want to value the most —> Jesus. Brian. Vera.

So how do I build momentum in my marriage?

A quote from Sacred Marriage that Brian uses as a bookmark. Early in our marriage I found it, and wrote a little note at the bottom. 🙂

-Thinking about Brian, even when we’re apart. Sending him ‘love texts’ during the day and scheming ways to demonstrate how much I care for him.

– Putting my love to action! Serving him according to his top love languages: words of affirmation, quality time, service.  This could include writing him encouraging notes, planning time for us to spend together, cooking, cleaning, etc… I’ve found the actions that speak the loudest are doing things that he could do himself. For example, Brian could get off the couch and make himself a cup of tea, or I could make it for him and bring it to him.

– Thanking the Lord for Brian’s dedication to Him and service to me. Using tools like The Power of a Praying Wife and Wisdom for Mothers to focus my prayer life.

– Budgeting money to spend on date nights and vacations. Our budget should represent the things that we value!

Ok, Back to the domino analogy. Have you ever tried to stop the dominos from falling once they start? It’s pretty tough. It takes some intentional force to stop them from falling. The same is true with reversing our actions — it’s difficult to do! What direction am I headed right now? I hope and pray my actions are building hope and strength into my marriage!

Responses

  1. This is good. I am so proud of you guys.

  2. I really needed to hear this. Thanks, Bethany. I need to incorporate some love texts into my marriage. 🙂

    • so thankful. it’s been on my heart to blog/write more about marriage!


Leave a Reply

Categories

