Posted by: Bethany Davis | January 7, 2011

My evolving taste buds

Some people have asked if I’ve had cravings or odd things happen since pregnancy. The answer is “yes,” and I thought I’d share a few.

Coffee :: Most people that know me, know that I love coffee. I wouldn’t say I’m an addict, but my days felt strange if I didn’t get my daily intake in the morning. I discovered with pregnancy that my draw toward coffee completely fell off the chart. It repulsed me, so I switched to hot tea. Thankfully, this craving helped me avoid going over my doctor-allotted 200 mg of caffeine/day. (Note: in the third trimester I have been known to enjoy a cup of decaf with dessert. Perhaps now coffee is finding it’s proper place in my life!)

Cantaloupe :: Similar to the coffee, this use to be one of my favorite fruits. I’ve tried on several occasions to enjoy this fruit, but each time it tastes gross — like it’s spoiled or mildewed, or something nasty.

Pasta :: Yum. I could eat pasta every night! In fact, just the thought of it makes me want to change my dinner menu plans for tonight. It’s definitely my most pronounced craving. Can I have a side of crazy bread with that, too? It’s never tasted so good.

The treasures at Trader's Joes

Hot dogs :: This would fall into the category of wanting something simply because you can’t have it. I never enjoyed hotdogs before pregnancy, but now that I know I can’t eat them because of nitrates, I can’t get them off my mind! Every Sonic I pass makes me want to stop and get a foot-long chili cheese coney.

Finally, a break through. My mom alerted me to the fact that Trader Joe’s carries nitrate-free hotdogs and pre-made pigs-in-a-blanket (they call ’em Parmesan Pups). So guess where Brian and I went after date night on Sunday? 😉 (add this to the loving-husband list from my last post!)

As of about a month ago, I’m back to cooking (goodbye nausea!) and enjoying foods again. It’s been an interesting ride — especially the day everything smelled and tasted like play-doh. Glad to be back on track!

Responses

  1. You as a couple are such a pleasure to read. I think I will just have to go to you for all my advice needs :).
    As an aside, it appears that baby budgeting, crafting dates, and Christ foods are hot blogging topics for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

