Posted by: Brian Andrew Davis | January 28, 2010

Tikka Masala

First, I have a confession. It’s about a new obsession. And it’s all Bethany’s fault. Okay, maybe not entirely…

I LOVE the Pioneer Woman’s website. She has amazing recipes, detailed photographs for each step in cooking, and also blogs about life, photography, and homeschooling on the side. It’s like she does 5 blogs all at once, updating them everyday! Somehow she also raises four kids and manages to keep a marriage with her cattle ranching husband whom she lovingly dubs the “Marlboro Man”.

Last night Bethany and I tried out the first recipe I had ever seen on her site–Chicken Tikka Masala. It is uniquely ethnic Indian dish that uses Garam Masala–a mixture of spices you can buy or make yourself. As we together cooked this delicious dish, my excitement grew as I took in all the progressive smells of sauteed onions, ginger, garlic, and diced tomatoes basted in heavy whipping cream, all covered in our wonderful Garam Masala mixture of coriander-cumin-pepper-cayenne-fennel-cardamon-nutmeg-ginger-clove goodness. Speaking of spice ‘splosions.  To top it off…yogurt basted chicken chunks stirred in and served on top of a bed of rice and peas. If only there was some way to record smells I could share it with you, but alas, technology has not yet advanced there. (Olfactography? Smellovision?) And eating it–absolute spicy, herby, bliss.

Check out this awesome dish and all of the PW’s stuff on her website.

Responses

  1. Chicken Tikka Masala is one of my all time favorites. I started eating it in all the Indian restaurants I visited in the UK and the one in Kidderminster made the best. The owner, Rocky, even took me back into the kitchen to show me how it was made and how he blended all the red spices. I even ate it when I went to the Indian restaurant in Shinjuku, Tokyo. The served it with warm cashew nuts, which were great. I became a regular so the owner used to give me a bag after dinner to take back to my hotel room.

  2. LOVE PW!! Chicken Spaghetti and Lasagna are definite keepers on her site as well!!

  3. I’ve been reading PW’s site for years and enjoy it a lot too! I got her cookbook for Christmas and it is a lot of fun. A lot of the recipes are on her website but I’m more of a book person than a computer person, so I like having the book to hold in my hands! I made her calzones the other day and they were a big hit around here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

