Posted by: Bethany Davis | December 29, 2009

The Present Moment

Giving up facebook does nothing for my spiritual life in itself. So what if I can click a button to suspend/delete my account? The proof is what I fill its place with. The time I would’ve spent here is going to be spent elsewhere. Some relational things come to mind. For example, I’d like to make more phone calls to friends, write more emails, even some snail mail letters (remember those?).

More importantly than keeping track how I spend that time, is the intentionality I want to put behind it. A few Sundays ago, Pastor David at Stonebridge mentioned the Jim Elliot quote:

“Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.”

This involves seeking God’s will for every moment and relishing in the present. With facebook, I found that occasionally my mind would wander to something I saw pop-up on the mini-feed, something that is completely random. (This tends to be the kind of thing I remember for text instead of the important material… maybe my mind works a little differently!) Simply, I want to discipline my mind to be wholly in the current place and time.

Discipline. That’s just what this is. In reading A Celebration of Sex (I know what you are thinking, but this is actually a textbook for next semester! ☺) The author mentions how Jean Pierre de Cassaude, an early church father, encouraged Christians to honor “the sacrament of the present moment.” Take a second to read this slowly:

“The present moment holds infinite riches beyond your wildest dreams but you will only enjoy them to the extent of your faith and love. The more a soul loves, the more it longs, the more it hopes, the more it finds. The will of God is manifest in each moment, an immense ocean which only the heart fathoms insofar as it overflows with faith, trust and love.”

Powerful stuff. I want my soul to be one with the Lord, aware of His leading at every moment. Facebook or any social media seems almost trivial when considering what God is calling His own to do. For me, I’m using this empty margin (facebook hole) to focus on living in the present. Yet, I realize that honoring the present moment can be done just as well with facebook! Live as you may, but “live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

