Posted by: Bethany Davis | August 8, 2009

money money money

Can’t live with it, can’t live without it.

Like I said in my last post, no amount of money can bring contentment. But as we’re building our budget (and seriously trusting God to provide), it’s difficult to find the right balance of being a good steward and not letting the thought of money (or money saving!) overtake your life. This summer we blogged about Brian and I eating on $5 a day. We usually met our goal, but spending only a few more dollars a day could have spiced up our meals and provided healthier options.

In case you are wondering, we are not aiming for the same daily food budget. Brian’s weight was dropping and I didn’t want to look like a bad wife (isn’t the husband suppose to gain weight after he gets married??), so I’ve been cooking some more complete meals than rice cakes and peanut butter.

We’re now focusing our attention on broader ways to save money. Here’s some examples:

1. I’m cutting Brian’s hair.

We first tried this a little over a month ago on the day he had an interview. Risky I know, but thankfully all went well and I plan to continue being his barber.

2. Making our own greeting cards.

I’m a big card person. I like receiving them and sending them. When cards range from .99 to $3.50, this can be an expensive fetish. So we’ve vowed to only use greeting cards we’ve already bought, then to begin making our own original cards for holidays and birthday.

3. Coupons & rebates & circulars

I’ve starting carrying around an index card box in my purse with coupons. (If this doesn’t scream “mom,” I don’t know what does). But, it has been lowering spending and allowing us to buy better quality food and items. Rite Aid rebates are awesome, too. Furthermore, I’ve been getting the grocery circulars in the mail and creating meals based off what’s on sale.

We’ve been saving money like it’s our job. (And well, for the time being, it is our job.) I realized today in the Chick-fil-A drive-through-line that the concept may be taking over my life — I winced at spending $1.54 (using coupons) to pay for lunch for both of us. I now have new resolve to strike the balance. I desire not let the money-saving idea keep me from the CONTENTMENT of spending an moderate amount in wise fashion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

