Posted by: Bethany Davis | June 24, 2009

A Living Illustration of Ephesians 5

The entire wedding weekend was beautiful and memorable, but the moment I will treasure forever is walking down the aisle. The Lord gave a glimpse into His great love, and the opportunity Brian and I have to reflect Him in our marriage.

Minutes before I was to walk down the aisle, I began to get a little nervous as huge raindrops poured down from the sky. The bridal party finished their processional, and I clutched my dad’s arm while we waited for the harp and violin to begin Canon in D.

The audience stood and we walked slowly, my eyes locked on Brian. Although the rain continued at a steady rate, the blusher I was wearing over my face kept me completely dry. I had insisted on having a blusher attached to the veil, as it reminded me how our knowledge of God is “veiled” until His second coming. I Corinthians 13:12 says, “Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” Furthermore, wearing a blusher represented our desire to be physically pure until marriage.

I felt a complete calm wash over me as I passed by all of our friends and family. I was walking down the aisle to become one with Brian, the man whom I would formally vow to love and serve.  When we approached Brian and his dad, our officiate, the rain came to a halt. My dad gave me away with a kiss and joined my hand with Brian’s. Both of our eyes were brimming as my blusher came off; we could now fully know each other — mind, soul, and body.

Ephesians 5 is the chapter Brian and I selected for our website and to have my maid of honor read during the ceremony. Paul speaks of Christ giving Himself up for the church and “washing her with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.”

This verse came alive to me during the ceremony. The rain was the Lord’s way of washing me before I was joined in union to Brian. Because of His forgiveness I am pure and without blemish. Walking down the aisle I not only believed this verse, but felt it to the core of my being. I am the bride of Christ, his beloved, and on June 7, 2009, I was honored to become the wife of Brian Andrew Davis. What a moment of rejoicing!

-Bethany

Responses

  1. LOVED reading this..it gave me goosebumps! I feel truly blessed to witness a couple seeking to truly honor God!! I had a family friend tell me recently that she had been continually praying for our marriage (particularly during the first year). I honestly believe that prayer made a HUGE difference…I’ll be praying for you both!


Leave a Reply

Categories

